A complete history of all major sports championships

Bookmark and Share

NCAA College Football Championship Winners, Losers and MVP's

Complete history of NCAA Football Champions. From the days of #1 ranked teams (sometimes 2 in a year) to the BCS to the College Football Playoffs starting in 2014, Championship History lists them all. Also including past Heisman Trophy winners and all time best colllege team ever results.

Year   Era    #1 College
Championship Score   Championship Game
Championship Game MVP(s)   #2 AP
#3 AP
#4 AP
Heisman Trophy Winner   Heisman School  
2013 BCS Florida State Auburn 34-31 Pasadena, CA
Rose Bowl
Jameis Winston (QB), P.J. Williams (DB) Auburn Michigan State South Carolina Jameis Winston Florida State
2012 BCS Alabama Notre Dame 42-14 Miami Gardens, FL
Sun Life Stadium
Eddie Lacy (RB), C.J. Mosley (LB) Oregon Ohio State Notre Dame Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
2011 BCS Alabama LSU 21-0 New Orleans, NO
A.J. McCarron (QB), Courtney Upshaw (LB) LSU Oklahoma State Oregon Robert Griffin III Baylor
2010 BCS Auburn Oregon 22-19 Glendale, AZ
University of Phoenix Stadium
Michael Dyer (RB) TCU Oregon Stanford Cam Newton Auburn
2009 BCS Alabama Texas 37-21 Pasadena, CA
Rose Bowl
Mark Ingram (RB) Texas Florida Boise State Mark Ingram Alabama
2008 BCS Florida Oklahoma 24-14 Miami, FL
Dolphin Stadium
Tim Tebow (QB) Utah USC Texas Sam Bradford Oklahoma
2007 BCS LSU Ohio State 38-24 New Orleans, NO
Louisiana Superdome
Matt Flynn (QB) Georgia USC Missouri Tim Tebow Florida
2006 BCS Florida Ohio State 41-14 Glendale, AZ
University of Phoenix Stadium
Chris Leak (QB) Ohio State LSU USC Troy Smith Ohio State
2005 BCS Texas USC 41-38 Pasadena, CA
Rose Bowl
Vince Young (QB) USC Penn State Ohio State Reggie Bush USC
2004 BCS USC Oklahoma 55-19 Miami, FL
Pro Player Stadium
Matt Leinart (QB) Auburn Oklahoma Utah Matt Leinart USC
2003 BCS USC Oklahoma 21-14 New Orleans, NO
Louisiana Superdome
Justin Vincent (RB) LSU Oklahoma Ohio State Jason White Oklahoma
2002 BCS Ohio State Miami (FL) 31-24 Tempe, AZ
Sun Devil Stadium
Craig Krenzel (QB) Miami (FL) Georgia USC Carson Palmer USC
2001 BCS Miami (Fla.) Nebraska 37-14 Pasadena, CA
Rose Bowl
Ken Dorsey (QB) and Andre Johnson (WR) Oregon Florida Tennessee Eric Crouch University of Nebraska
2000 BCS Oklahoma Florida State 13-2 Miami, FL
Pro Player Stadium
Torrance Marshall (LB) Miami (FL) Washington Oregon State Chris Weinke Florida State
1999 BCS Florida State Virginia Tech 46-29 New Orleans, NO
Louisiana Superdome
Peter Warrick (WR) Virginia Tech Nebraska Wisconsin Ron Dayne Wisconsin
1998 BCS Tennessee Florida State 23-16 Tempe, AZ
Sun Devil Stadium
Peerless Price (WR) and Dwayne Goodrich (CB) Ohio State Florida State Arizona Ricky Williams Texas
1997 AP Poll Michigan Washington State 21-16 Miami, FL
1998 Orange Bowl
Nebraska Florida State Florida Charles Woodson Michigan
1996 AP Poll Florida Florida State 52-20 New Orleans, Louisiana
1997 Nokia Sugar Bowl
Ohio State Florida State Arizona State Danny Wuerffel Florida
1995 AP Poll Nebraska Florida 62-24 Tempe, AZ
1996 Fiesta Bowl
Florida Tennessee Florida State Eddie George Ohio State
1994 AP Poll Nebraska Miami (FL) 24-17 Miami, FL
1995 Orange Bowl
Penn State Colorado Florida State Rashaan Salaam Colorado
1993 AP Poll Florida State Nebraska 18-16 Miami, FL
1994 Orange Bowl
Notre Dame Nebraska Auburn Charlie Ward Florida State
1992 AP Poll Alabama Miami (FL) 34-13 New Orleans, Louisiana
1993 Sugar Bowl
Florida State Miami (FL) Notre Dame Gino Torretta Miami
1991 AP Poll Miami (FL) Nebraska 22-0 Miami, FL
1992 Orange Bowl
Washington Penn State Florida State Desmond Howard Michigan
1990 AP Poll Colorado Notre Dame 10-9 Miami, FL
1991 Orange Bowl
Georgia Tech Miami (FL) Florida State Ty Detmer Brigham Young
1989 AP Poll Miami (Fla.) Alabama 33-25 New Orleans, Louisiana
1990 Sugar Bowl
Notre Dame Florida State Colorado Andre Ware Houston
1988 AP Poll Notre Dame West Virginia 34-21 Tempe, AZ
1989 Fiesta Bowl
Miami (FL) Florida State Michigan Barry Sanders Oklahoma State
1987 AP Poll Miami (Fla.) Oklahoma 20-14 Miami, FL
1988 Orange Bowl
Florida State Oklahoma Syracuse Tim Brown Notre Dame
1986 AP Poll Penn State Miami (FL) 14-10 Tempe, AZ
1987 Fiesta Bowl
Miami (FL) Oklahoma Arizona State Vinny Testaverde Miami
1985 AP Poll Oklahoma Penn State 25-10 Miami, FL
1986 Orange Bowl
Michican Penn State Tennessee Bo Jackson Auburn
1984 AP Poll Brigham Young Doug Flutie Boston College
1983 AP Poll Miami (Fla.) Mike Rozier Nebraska
1982 AP Poll Penn State Herschel Walker Georgia
1981 AP Poll Clemson Marcus Allen USC
1980 AP Poll Georgia George Rogers South Carolina
1979 AP Poll Alabama Charles White USC
1978 AP Poll Alabama and USC Billy Sims Oklahoma
1977 AP Poll Notre Dame Earl Campbell Texas
1976 AP Poll Pittsburgh Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh
1975 AP Poll Oklahoma Archie Griffin Ohio State
1974 AP Poll Oklahoma and USC Archie Griffin Ohio State
1973 AP Poll Notre Dame and U. of Alabama John Cappelletti Penn State
1972 AP Poll USC Johnny Rodgers Nebraska
1971 AP Poll Nebraska Pat Sullivan Auburn
1970 AP Poll Texas and Nebraska Jim Plunkett Stanford
1969 AP Poll Texas Steve Owens Oklahoma
1968 AP Poll Ohio State O. J. Simpson USC
1967 AP Poll USC Gary Beban UCLA
1966 AP Poll Notre Dame Steve Spurrier Florida
1965 AP Poll Alabama and Michigan State Mike Garrett USC
1964 AP Poll Alabama John Huarte Notre Dame
1963 AP Poll Texas Roger Staubach Navy
1962 AP Poll USC Terry Baker Oregon State
1961 AP Poll Alabama Ernie Davis Syracuse
1960 AP Poll Minnesota Joe Bellino Navy
1959 AP Poll Syracuse Billy Cannon Louisiana State
1958 AP Poll Louisiana State Pete Dawkins Army
1957 AP Poll Auburn and Ohio State John Crow Texas A & M
1956 AP Poll Oklahoma Paul Hornung Notre Dame
1955 AP Poll Oklahoma Howard Cassady Ohio State
1954 AP Poll Ohio State and UCLA Alan Ameche Wisconsin
1953 AP Poll Maryland Johnny Lattner Notre Dame
1952 AP Poll Michigan State Billy Vessels Oklahoma
1951 AP Poll Tennessee Dick Kazmaier Princeton
1950 AP Poll Oklahoma Vic Janowicz Ohio State
1949 AP Poll Notre Dame Leon Hart Notre Dame
1948 AP Poll Michigan Doak Walker Southern Methodist
1947 AP Poll Notre Dame Johnny Lujack Notre Dame
1946 AP Poll Notre Dame Glenn Davis Army
1945 AP Poll Army Felix Blanchard Army
1944 AP Poll Army Leslie Horvath Ohio State
1943 AP Poll Notre Dame Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame
1942 AP Poll Ohio State Frank Sinkwich Georgia
1941 AP Poll Minnesota Bruce Smith Minnesota
1940 AP Poll Minnesota Tom Harmon Michigan
1939 AP Poll Texas A & M Nile Kinnick Iowa
1938 AP Poll Texas Christian Davey O'Brien Texas Christian
1937 AP Poll Pittsburgh Clinton Frank Yale
1936 AP Poll Minnesota Larry Kelley Yale

All Time Standings -- TBD

College Football Interesting Notes:
2005: USC gave up 12 wins due to NCAA sanctions, thus vacating their title.
2003: USC was ranked #1 in polls, but #3 in BCS rankings. Thus some consider USC the #1 team for 2003, despite note playing in the BCS Championship Game.
1997 and Prior: During the AP Pool era, the #1 team didn't always play the #2 ranked team to determine a championship. This site displays the final #1 ranked team and corresponding bowl game that was won to earn that final ranking.
1991: Washington ended the season as #1 in the Coaches Poll. They are listed above as #2, due to their final ranking in the AP Poll.
1990: Georgia Tech ended the season as the #1 in the Coaches Poll.

NCAA College Football history of winners provided by ChampionshipHistory.com